About the Awards   honorees   Nominations   Attend the Ceremony   Contact  


More than ever, regional cooperation is crucial to the success of Metropolitan Detroit.  A cooperative spirit among all our communities is key to creating the common vision and commitment needed to improve our region’s economic competitiveness and quality of life. 

To nurture this sense of regional community, the Detroit Free Press and Metropolitan Affairs Coalition have partnered to create the Shining Light Regional Cooperation Awards, which honor individuals who are making important contributions to regional cooperation, progress, and understanding in Metropolitan Detroit.

The call for nominations for the
2014 Shining Light Regional Cooperation Awards is closed


2013 Shining Light Regional Cooperation Award recipients:

Neal Shine Award for Exemplary Regional Leadership
Ismael Ahmed, Associate Provost for Metropolitan Impact, University of Michigan-Dearborn

Eleanor Josaitis Unsung Hero Award
Dan Carmody, President, Eastern Market Corporation
Noreen Keating, Executive Director, Oakland Parks Foundation

Dave Bing Future Leader Award
Alexis Dishman, Vice President and Alternate Group Manager, Business Banking, Comerica Bank

2014 Shining Light Program Sponsors:

Beaumont logo ––– DTE logo
–– ITC logo

2014 Shining Light Award Sponsors:

Clark Hill LEgal Services LogMotor City Casino logoTalmer Bank and Trust logo


View the Detroit Free Press articles and Shining Light awards videos from 2013.













Presented by:

Detroit Free Press

Metropolitan Affairs Coalition



Shining Light Regional Cooperation Awards